A- A A+

About us

The Health and Social Care Act (2012) signalled the start of the next chapter in the NHS's history. It sets out big changes that will see groups of doctors and other health professionals join together to form Clinical Commissioning Groups (or CCGs) that will commission healthcare from April 2013.

Surrey Downs Clinical Commissioning Group became authorised on 1 April 2013. As a CCG the Act states that we must have a Governing Body, to ensure and assure good governance arrangements are put in place for all decisions. However, we also work to a locality model, which means budgets, commissioning plans and some decision-making happens at a local level and feeds into our robust governance framework.

Surrey Downs CCG is made up of four different areas – or localities - with a total of 33 GP membership practices and serving a population of nearly 290,000 people. These localities are Dorking, East Elmbridge, Medlinc and Mid Surrey, and as a whole they cover Ashtead, Bookham, Epsom, Ewell, Banstead, Dorking, Esher, Cobham, Thames Ditton and surrounding villages.

We have a budget of £314million to buy healthcare from local hospitals, community services, social care, ambulance services, mental health services and many other service for you and your family.

We believe that strong clinical leadership and the true engagement of local people, patients and those who use healthcare in the Surrey Downs area will be the key to our success.

Clinical Commissioning Groups are allocated their resources by NHS England, an independent organisation established in October 2012 to improve health outcomes by providing national leadership, overseeing the operation of CCGs, and by directly commissioning some services.

Whilst CCGs are responsible for areas such as urgent and emergency care, elective hospital care, mental health services and community care in their patch, NHS England commissions primary care (from GPs, pharmacies, and dental practices, for instance) and specialised services which are provided at relatively few hospitals, such as military healthcare and offender healthcare.

CCGs are not subject to regulation by external bodies such as the CQC, but are licensed by NHS England. Surrey Downs CCG is reviewed quarterly by NHS England, who are able require CCGs to comply with a number of conditions and directions. Surrey Downs CCG is not subject to any conditions or directions at this time.

The CCG can be subject to non-sector regulation by bodies such as the Health and Safety Executive, The Information Commissioner’s Office, and the Equality and Human Rights Commission. Surrey Downs CCG is not subject to any investigations or regulatory notices at this time.

To read more about how CCGs fit into the new NHS structure, please see the document below, created by NHS England.

To see how CCGs fit into the new NHS structure please see the document below, created by NHS Employers.

icon Overview of the new NHS stucture

New NHS Structure Guide from NHS England

     111nhschoicesChoose Well

Surrey Downs CCG
Cedar Court
Guildford Road
KT22 9AE

Tel: 01372 201500